Mirror Effect (Part 2)

A woman in a cloak came up and started to make out with Xavier. After a minute or so of having her tongue down his throat, she finally finished and whispered something into his ear. It was the quietest whisper you could imagine, so low that I couldn’t make out what she whispered to him. She glared at me as if I had committed a hideous crime against her at some point. The glare was enough for me to question every action that I had ever done.

Once inside the car, we didn’t speak a word of what had occurred. The atmosphere was dark and I felt as if an elephant was sitting on my chest. It almost felt like a heart attack, but there was no way I could be having a heart attack. After about a few minutes of driving, I broke the silence.

“What was that all about?”

“What was all what about?” he responded with a disgusted look on his face.

“You know,” I hesitated, “The party? You were all confident and just not being you. I don’t know how to describe it. Even better who was that woman before we got in the car?”

“Why don’t you mind your business? What about that for once Ian.”

“Damn, alright? Sorry for asking. I was just curious is all?”

“Yeah. Well times are changing. You’re no longer needed.”

I didn’t respond just stood there shocked at what he said. In our entire lifetime as friends, he never spoke like this to me or anyone; there was a complete change in attitude from the friendly, shy, timid Xavier that I knew and loved as my best friend. It goes without saying, we rode the rest of the way without saying another word to one another.

“Alright, bro. I’ll see you for school in like a few hours? I am still picking you up, right?” I had to ask him after what he mentioned in the car, about me not being needed anymore.

“Yeah. I’ll be ready in like 2 hours,” he smirked at me, “I mean it is already 5:30 in the morning.”

As he stepped out of the car there was a flash in the window. It caught my eye, only because there was nothing that would have reflected off of the window. Then after he closed the door, I looked at him through the window and something was staring back. That freaked me out, because his back was toward the window when he stepped out.

I drove home thinking, ‘What the heck was going on?’ I mean at the party Xavier and I swapped places. Then some random woman flat out makes out with him and after he didn’t even want to mention it during our drive. That also brings up the question, what was going to happen between him and Cristina? I mean he had a crush on this girl since forever and finally got her number and who knows what was going to happen between the two.

I got home after about 10 minutes, taking my time because I was tired from the party. Again though something caught my eye, before I even got into my house. My pup didn’t come great me right away on the front yard; that was his usual ritual when I came home. Today though he was nowhere to be found and it was not like him at all, just another weird coincidence about the day. As I walked into my house there was another flash I caught off the corner of my eye; again there was nothing in my house that would cause this flash and I had investigate before taking a power nap and going to school. There was a nice body length mirror, but nothing would have flashed off of it though. Although nothing was able to flash off of it, I still gave it a good look over and once more, there was someone or something staring back that was not my reflection. I jumped to the opposite side of the room at this face and looked again at the mirror, unfortunately there was nothing staring back at me except my own reflection.

All that had occurred during the night and early morning was put to the back burner, because I needed to take a quick nap before school and trying to figure out what was going on with me….

Leave a Reply

