Let’s talk….

Let’s have a talk about God, in other words religion and beliefs. In a time of long ago (sounds like a movie, right?) America remembered its beliefs and respected religion. I mean look at our currency, it reads “In God we trust” on top of do we not all say, “God bless America”?

What I am really asking is, what happened to our belief in God? More importantly our respect to God?

Here is where things get messy. There are various religions out there and individuals who do not believe in any religion. (I myself am a Pentecostal Christian) While each religion has its difference and reading material, something that brings all of them together is the belief in God. Yes, all religions believe in God. Now I know that not every religion only has one God, but that some religions have multiple Gods they believe in. Even so there is a God in each of these religions.

Now let’s turn to America. Where have we placed God? Have we forgotten about him? Our ancestors placed God in many of writings we have today. If you don’t believe me let’s look at them:

“It is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits, and humbly to impore His protection and favor.”

  • George Washington (First President of the United States of America)

“I…[rely] upon the merits of Jesus Christ for a pardon of all my sins.”

  • Samuel Adams (Signer of the Declaration of Independence)

“The Congress of the United States recommends and approves the Holy Bible for use in all schools.”

  • United States Congress 1782

“[The Fourth of July] ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty.”

  • John Adams (President of the United States of America, First Vice President, Signer of the Declaration of Independence, Signer of the Bill of Rights, and Signer of First Amendment)

I could keep going on with quotes of those who founded this great country, but I’ll finish with this final quote by Francis Scott Key, “And this be our motto, ‘In God is our trust’”. That is found in the USA National Anthem within the third verse. I ask again, why have we forgotten about God?

Now the reason I ask is simple, why are we doing things that are displeasing to him? I mean in movies now and days, this idea that same sex anything is normal and accepted. (I now I’ll get some type of backlash, but hey this is my opinion as a Christian and as a human). I find it disheartening that this is being shown as the new norm; I find it even more disheartening that those who were opposed to this switched simply to gain votes and praise. Don’t get me wrong, I have no problem with their relationships or two individuals being together.

What I do not agree with is their entitlement to being married. That should remain a sacred thing. It is for a man and woman, not for man and man or even woman and woman. I have the biggest of issues with that situation. (Once more I speak for only myself). They can have a relationship, own a home, and have careers. The thing they can’t do is procreate a family, for this they need some form of third party. What I do applaud is that from most couples I know, they go with adoption and that is applauded, because they are taking care of a child whose original parents abandoned them for one reason or another. Marriage though is still something that I would rather remain untouched by man. God intended marriage for man and woman to do procreate a family.

Now I finish with saying and restating….These are my views and I speak only for myself with what I write. Every individual, believer, and worshipper has their own views on this. What I can say with full certainty is that for the extreme believer to want to kill individuals who have a relationship that is not man and woman, that is incorrect; as believers all we can do is pray for that individual and let them make their own decisions on their life, much like God lets us make our own decisions. Another thing I don’t agree with is shunning them from churches, I gladly welcome these individuals, because I am not here to judge anyone, that is God’s job (if you believe in God). Once more I finish hoping you read this and maybe give you something to think about as your day, week, year goes on.

Quotes

Leave a Reply

